Story: Awards and prizes

Prime Minister's Awards for Literary Achievement, 2003–18

The Prime Minister's Awards for Literary Achievement were inaugurated by Prime Minister Helen Clark in 2003. This is the full list of winners to 2018 – including Te Ara's former general editor, Jock Phillips, who won the award for non-fiction in 2014.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Mark Derby, 'Awards and prizes - Literary awards, 1950s onwards', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 15 August 2022)

Story by Mark Derby, published 22 Oct 2014, updated 1 Apr 2020