Story: Wetlands

Significant wetlands of New Zealand

Seventy-three wetland areas are of regional, national or international significance. They occur from North Cape to Stewart Island, but represent only a fraction of the variety and extent of wetlands found when Europeans were settling in New Zealand from the 1840s.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Peter Johnson, 'Wetlands - What are wetlands?', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 6 August 2020)

Story by Peter Johnson, published 24 Sep 2007