Story: National Party

National Party leaders

The National Party's longest-serving leader has been Sidney Holland (17 years), followed by Keith Holyoake (14.5 years). Todd Muller has been leader for the shortest period (53 days). By July 2020, eight of National's 14 leaders had served as prime minister. National's longest-serving prime minister has been Keith Holyoake (12.5 years), while his successor, Jack Marshall, and Bill English were both prime minister for just 10 months.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Colin James, 'National Party - Shifting rightwards', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 8 February 2023)

Story by Colin James, published 20 Jun 2012, updated 1 Jul 2020