Story: Kapa haka – Māori performing arts

National kapa haka results, 1972–2015

Nationwide kapa haka competitions have been held approximately every two years since 1972. This table shows the location and overall winner of each of these competitions. Historically, the two most successful teams have been Waihīrere and Te Waka Huia, with five wins each. Both owe much of their success to the dedication of Ngāpō (Bub) and Pimia (Nen) Wehi, who began performing with the Gisborne-based Waihīrere and later moved to Auckland to form the non-tribal Te Waka Huia.

Using this item

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source: Te Matatini

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Valance Smith, 'Kapa haka – Māori performing arts - Urban groups and formal competitions', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 19 September 2021)

Story by Valance Smith, published 22 Oct 2014